Friday, March 13, 2009

List of institutions

no matter what your academic interests are Norway can offer a wide variety of institutions - all with their own distinct profile. And the difference in geographic location, from the rugged islands of Svalbard in the Arctic to the capital city Oslo, makes each institution a perfect starting point for unique nature experiences.

The Norwegian higher education sector consists of seven universities, six specialised university institutions, 24 state university colleges, two national academies of the arts, and 29 private colleges. For more information about each institution, please click on the links below.

Norwegian University of Life Sciences (UMB)
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
University of Agder (UiA)
University of Bergen (UiB)
University of Oslo (UiO)
University of Stavanger (UiS)
University of Tromsø (UiT)

Specialised university institutions
BI - Norwegian School of Management
MF Norwegian School of Theology
Norwegian Academy of Music (NMH)
Norwegian School of Sport Sciences (NIH)
Norwegian School of Veterinary Science
Oslo School of Architecture and Design (AHO)
School of Mission and Theology

In addition to the specialised university institutions Norway has two university centres:
University Centre in Svalbard (UNIS)
University Graduate Center at Kjeller (UNIK)

State university colleges
Akershus University College
Bergen University College
Bodø University College
Buskerud University College
Finnmark University College
Gjøvik University College
Harstad University College
Hedmark University College
Lillehammer University College
Molde University College
Narvik University College
Nesna University College
Nord-Trøndelag University College
Oslo University College
Saami University College
Sogn og Fjordane University College
Stord/Haugesund University College
Sør-Trøndelag University College
Telemark University College
Tromsø University College
Vestfold University College
Volda University College
Østfold University College
Aalesund University College

National institutes of the arts
Bergen National Academy of the Arts (KHiB)
Oslo National Academy of the Arts (KHiO)

Private colleges with institutional accreditation
Diakonhjemmet University College (campus Oslo & Sandnes)
Norwegian Teacher Academy Bachelor and Master Studies

Private colleges with accredited programmes and courses
Ansgar School of Theology and Mission
Barratt Due Institute of Music
Bergen School of Architecture
Betanien Deaconal University College
Bjørknes College
Haraldsplass Deaconess University College (HDUC)
Høgskulen Landbruk og Bygdenæringar (HLB)
Norwegian Eurythmy College
Norwegian School of Dance (DNBH)
Norwegian School of Information Technology (NITH)
Norwegian Teacher Academy (NLA)
Queen Maud's College
Rudolf Steiner College of Education
Scandinavian School of Management (RMH)

In addition, there is a number of institutions with education and websites only in Norwegian. A complete overview of Norwegian institutions of higher education is available on


  © Blogger templates Psi by 2008

Back to TOP